I sat across from her (Part 1)

Last year I confessed to my husband that as much as I wanted to be supportive of his friendship with bitch-face, it was really difficult for me. I put aside my anger and pride and explained to him the best I could, how and why this was hurting me. He listened intently (a first) and seemed to really take it in. As a result, he decided to distance himself from her. He would instill boundaries and only converse with her professionally. Any lunchings had would be in a group setting but he would never be alone with her again. I was completely okay with this.

Fast forward a few months to his company Christmas party. I could tell he was focused on being attentive, making sure I was comfortable. He paid her very little attention aside from making sure to keep her away from me. She, on the other hand, was constantly glancing his way. I caught her wave a couple of times though he didn’t see, or if he did he ignored her. When all else failed she made it a point to wander over and stand in his line of sight. Me being… well, a woman, knew EXACTLY what she was doing, knew that it was intentional. But the rational side told me to stop being ridiculous. I was just being paranoid. So, I let it go.

Last years’ Christmas party she went a step further. While we were in line waiting for drinks she sauntered over with her boyfriend intending on greeting me. I only discovered this after my husband and I sat at our table and he mentioned it. He told me he stopped her and told her not to bother me. I couldn’t understand, for the life of me, why she would think it acceptable to speak to me given our circumstance. Either way, I tried not to give it anymore thought.

Then, when we were leaving, she made yet another stab. He was walking a few steps ahead of me and in passing congratulated her boyfriend on winning a raffle. She was several feet away in the drink line while her boyfriend waited by the wall. In seeing this she rushed over, hopping in front of me so closely I had to stop abruptly to prevent us crashing into each other. All this so she could tell my husband “Congratulations!” on the raffle he won. The paranoid bitch in me KNEW she saw me and that she did it intentionally either so I could see her get his attention or so she could get mine. The rational part of me couldn’t dispute that argument. I was irritated. But I didn’t mention it. I let it go. Especially since all he did was give a lackadaisical “Thanks,” and kept it moving.

That’s twice that she rubbed me the wrong way while under the same roof. I wasn’t sure my temper could handle a third. So when my husband mentioned his farewell party for his last day at that company (thank GOD!), I was hesitant. Sure enough, he warned me bitch-face would be there since it’s a big group of his co-workers and they’re all friends. I hadn’t mentioned her first two strikes because I didn’t want to make a big deal out of them but figured I should give him a heads up about why I’d be uncomfortable. He assured me he understood and basically said she’s an idiot. She’s really messy and clueless, she doesn’t know any better. He didn’t want me to worry or let it upset me but he understood if I didn’t want to go. He said if I did, if I wanted he would tell her to stay away from me. Apparently the place was a karaoke bar and he assumed that so much would be going on that we wouldn’t cross paths either way. I didn’t want to put a damper on things so I told him not to worry about it. I’d put my big girl panties on and go.

When we got there, two of his female co-workers were already there sitting across from each other at a table for 5. He sat me by one of the women and then took the seat at the head of the table. There was one vacant seat left. Next to him. Across from me. Had the stars been aligned that night and things in my favor, ANYONE ELSE would have walked through the door next. But just my luck, bitch-face came strutting in. And what does she do? Sits ACROSS from me and NEXT to him, proceeded to smile in my direction and say hello.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment